Paul & Bryan Weekly GSHL Football Podcast – 2012 Schedule Preview

Written by Bryan Levesque on May 11, 2012

Paul Valencia of 360preps.com and Bryan Levesque of GSHLFootball.com talk Greater St. Helens League Football on their weekly podcast

Paul Valencia of 360preps.com and Bryan Levesque of GSHLFootball.com talk Greater St. Helens League Football on their weekly podcast

The Columbian’s 360Preps reporter Paul Valencia and GSHLFootball.com founder Bryan Levesque will be doing a weekly podcast on the Greater St. Helens League.

2012 Schedule Preview

May 11, 2012

In this weeks podcast:

Paul and Bryan talk about the 2012 Greater St. Helens high school football schedules. They look week-by-week at all the key games such as Skyview at Central Catholic week 1, Union at Jesuit week 2, Lakes at Skyview week 3, Camas at Lakes week 4, Skyview at Camas week 5, Camas at Union week 7 and Union at Skyview week 9. They also touch on other key games such as Columbia River at Mountain View week 9, Prairie at Columbia River week 7 and who the whole 2A is again up for grabs once again. They talk about this and much more in this 28 minute podcast!

Listen to the full podcast Part 1 of 2 (12:17)

Listen to the full podcast Part 2 of 2 (15:23)

Get your 2011 NFL Draft Day Gear at Football Fanatics

Comments

26 Responses to “Paul & Bryan Weekly GSHL Football Podcast – 2012 Schedule Preview”

  1. GSHL on May 11th, 2012 12:32 pm

    Lets start the early predictions now! Who do YOU have winning each league, followed by 2nd and 3rd respectively. Impact players, and Schedule talk! Lets hear it!

  2. Chrish on May 11th, 2012 4:48 pm

    4A Predictions
    1st Skyview
    2nd Camas
    3rd Union

    3A Predictions
    1st Columbia River
    2nd Mountain View
    3rd Kelso

    2A Predictions
    1st Hockinson
    2nd Aberdeen
    3rd Mark Morris

  3. Devin on May 11th, 2012 6:30 pm

    Watch out for BG this year, they surprised people last year and barely missed the playoffs, they could sneak into the playoffs with Skyview and Union breaking into new Qb’s!

  4. Swagg on May 12th, 2012 1:09 am

    4A
    1st: Camas
    2nd: Skyview
    3rd: Heritage
    3A
    1st: Mountain View
    2nd: Prairie
    3rd: Coumbia River
    2A
    1st: Hockinson
    2nd: Aberdeem
    3rd: Mark Morris

  5. Chrish on May 13th, 2012 5:46 am

    Devin, are you serious?

    “Watch out for BG this year, they surprised people last year and barely missed the playoffs, they could sneak into the playoffs with Skyview and Union breaking into new Qb’s!”

    While the 76-0 score last year was not representative of how close that game was, there is no chance Skyview loses to BG this season. Too many offensive weapons returning. The last time Battle Ground even scored a single point against Skyview was the 2008 season.

  6. 2A on May 13th, 2012 10:26 am

    4A:
    Skyview
    Union
    Camas

    3A:
    MV
    CR
    Prairie

    2A:
    Hockinson – Watch LB/WR/RB Jacob Reagan, the REAL Defensive POY in the 2A, and QB Krahn, RB Barclay, OL Rathbun and Scott to lead this team back to a title
    MM – perennial power, look for a big O-Line and some backs to excel in the wing-t. Need to find a replacement for Asbell on offense. Watch LB Littlefield on Defense
    RAL – Look for future Offensive POY RB/WR Jacob Yordy to turn some heads and make big plays. I see RAL coming into the top tier of this league if they can find some Defense and not rely too much on Yordy’s speed.

  7. 2A on May 13th, 2012 10:27 am

    Bryan, any idea when the Shiner’s roster will be determined and publicly viewable?

  8. Player on May 13th, 2012 1:44 pm

    4A football looks to be pretty great this season, as well as 3A and 2A. skyview, union, and camas look to be the power houses in the 4A but dont overlook any other team in the 4A. finally some competition with the seattle teams coming in and going to oregon to see the field.

    4A prediction- skyview takes the title with close games to camas and union.

    3A prediction- columbia river or mountain view, they both will be a tough game for anyone.

    2A prediction- Aberdeen or Hockinson, it should be interesting with the addition to Aberdeen who could turn some heads in the 2A.

  9. SKYPA on May 14th, 2012 8:46 am

    Devin, I would hardly call Jordan Berni a new QB.

  10. GSHLDUDE on May 14th, 2012 9:55 am

    SKYPA- Why would you not call him a new QB? Was he the starter last year? Are you gonna tell me about all the snaps he got in garbage time. He is a good player and will probably be a solid QB for Skyview, but he is NEW.

  11. GSHL Football Fan 2012 on May 14th, 2012 10:06 am

    C’mon now guys (Devin & GSHLDUDE),

    Look at the returning 4A QB’s to speak of. It’s really Berni from Skyview & Henessey from Camas. Berni has the most skilled players returning with a very good offensive line. You certainly have to give him the nod when you are talking about a guy you expect to perform at a high level. Henessey will also do very well in Eagles offense and help put W’s up in his first year as a starter. I expect Hamilton from BG to improve much more from a year ago as well. The Heritage QB has a burner to throw to but not much expected there. Union is the unknown and most likely Piland will ease his new starter in and ramp up the run game for the better part of the season.

    4A Prediction:
    1. Skyview 2. Camas 3. Union 4. BG 5. Heritage

    Book it!

  12. Bryan Levesque on May 14th, 2012 10:44 am

    I think you mean Ian Humphrey at Battle Ground. Ian will be a Senior. (2011 stats 49-117 838yds 9td 5int). Also don’t forget about Anthony Thomas at Evergreen. Anthony will also be a Senior and was the Plainsmen’s starting QB last season (2011 stats 27-73 443yds 4td 9int). Berni did start 1 game last year when Skyview played at Heritage. (2011 stats 20-45 308yds 4td 1int). Hennessey did not start any games for Camas last year. (2011 stats 19-26 267yds 2td 2int). Loren Standiford at Heritage also started at least 1 game, i can’t remember. (2011 stats 27-56 256yds 1td 6int).

  13. SKYPA on May 14th, 2012 11:31 am

    JB also played more than half the game at Couerd’Alene. Yes they got beat bad but he did lead them on their only 2 scoring drives. He did play a lot of garbage minutes but he also had a few series when the starter needed to come out for a play or 2. just sayin… out of every single QB in the GSHL he will be as ready as any of them come August 30th.

  14. Jack Supporter on May 15th, 2012 7:34 am

    Not sure why folks are picking Aberdeen in the top 3 of 2A. They moved from the 2A Evergreen Conference because they couldn’t compete in that league. I don’t think they’ll be horrible, but I don’t see them as a top 3 team.

    4A: Skyview, Union, Camas
    3A: CR, MV, Prairie
    2A: Hockinson, RAL, MM

    RAL will be solid as long as the line blocks. All the young guys from last year have a year of varsity experience under their belts and Yordy will explode! It won’t be a one man show though. Look for a couple other guys on offense to have solid seasons (Peerboom, Rossellini).

  15. wsumj on May 16th, 2012 9:32 pm

    4A – Sky, Camas, the U
    3A – CR, MV, Prairie
    2A- Hockinson, MM

    As far as QBs, JB and Hennesey. They will both do fine.
    Berni has a ton of returning talent surrounding him. He has played with Forrest Russell for quite a few years (before they jumped the Heritage ship and landly safely and softly at Skyview.) In fact, I think those two won a couple league championships at Covington Middle School (Read it on espn.com/juniorhigfootball)
    Coach Eagle will take care of Hennesey. They have a solid core of juniors who have lost very few football games over the last 6-7 years going back to youth football days. (read it on espn.com/ccyf)

    Bottom line, 4A is going to be tough and any one of the Big 3 can win the league title. Tha’ts why we play the games, boys!

    *My name is WSUMJ and I approve this message.

  16. 2A Supporter on May 16th, 2012 10:28 pm

    In the 2A it should be a mix between RAL, Hockinson, or Washougal. I see Mark Morris a year away but I could be wrong. RAL returns Ryan Peerboom, Eric Roselini, and most dynamic player in the league in Jacob Yordy, all with a year of experience under there belt. Hockinson returns the Leagues best Quarterback in Jess Krahn, along with several other returning all-league playmakers. Washougal returns core of upcoming seniors who have been on Varsity for the past 3 years including two of the best running backs in Stephen Camden and Austin Tofell, and the leagues best receiver in Karsten Short. Losing O’Hara and Sullivan will hurt, which is why I have them at the bottom of the three, but if they can solve the QB situation, they have the playmakers to contend. Should be a great year for the entire GSHL!

  17. Storm from EWU on May 17th, 2012 10:49 am

    The season is much too far way, I just can’t stand the wait. With college finished I might actually get to see more games this season. I got to watch the Storm play a number of weeks but I didnt get to see many of the the other games and I look forward to seeing our other teams play this season.

    4A – Storm, Titans, Papermakers. A very exciting league this year and all three could surprise us in any direction I think. I feel nervous for Skyview going into this season, but I felt the same way last year at this time.

    3A – Thunder, Chieftains, Falcons. I definitely think Prairie is the underdog in this race, they have the potential but I still think they will trail the other two.

    2A – Hawks, Monarchs, Panthers. Hockinson left an impression on me last season, I like them to build on that success.

  18. coolblu2 on May 18th, 2012 10:55 am

    4a- skyview-union-camas: skyview too stacked for young union and camas team. union beats camas (homefield advantage) Camas plays a good half against skyview but then looses

    3a- Rivers Year- mtn view loses senior leadership and takes second barely over prairie.

  19. Puma on May 18th, 2012 2:49 pm

    3a
    1.prairie
    2.river
    3.mountain view

    Prairie has the most returning all league and 2nd team all league players. And for the people worried about them losing seitz and the gang of receivers, last year they beat river without seitz and barely throwing the ball.

  20. Former Kalama Fan on May 19th, 2012 8:54 am

    Hey, take note…Austin Johnson from Kalama, WA is transferring to Mark Morris for his Senior year. This dynamic and versatile Running Back and Linebacker is certain to make Coach Perkins smile with pride!! He was All-State RB and LB last season; All-Area 1st Team Defense; Trico Offensive Player of the Year; and Trico All-League 1st Team Offense (RB) and Defense (LB). He runs like a gazelle and loves to hit hard!

    Chip Kelly and Gary Campbell at the University of Oregon liked him so well at their summer camp last June that they awarded him the Rising Junior “Outstanding Running Back” award.

    He is being recruited by numerous D1 colleges already. Take a look, you will like what you see!!

  21. Former Kalama Fan on May 19th, 2012 8:56 am

    Austin Johnson’s Junior Highlight Film:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jvlrJY7eMj8

  22. MVHS Athlete on May 20th, 2012 9:32 am

    @Puma they also got demolished by camas without seitz

  23. prairie strong on May 20th, 2012 11:58 am

    no one in 3a was going to beat camas last year

  24. Heritage strong on May 20th, 2012 8:12 pm

    Did someone really say Heritage would be fifth in the standings?? Even behind Battlegroung who just got lucky they stayed in the game last year. Heritage has young talent returning. The fastest kid in the district is on their team and the QB is a hard worker don’t count them out so much.

  25. GSHLDUDE on May 21st, 2012 8:46 am

    Former Kalama fan- Why not transfer to a 4A if he is a D1 level kid?

  26. Former Kalama Fan on May 21st, 2012 11:10 am

    @ GSHLDUDE

    Family works in Longview….and they don’t want to move to Clark County! He is getting plenty of attention now, and it will just increase next season.

    He also carries a 3.85 GPA – and the academics are taking notice too…stay tuned.

Got something to say?





Aberdeen BobcatsBattle Ground TigersCamas PapermakersColumbia River ChieftainsEvergreen PlainsmenFort Vancouver TrappersHeritage TimberwolvesHockinson HawksHudson's Bay EaglesKelso HilandersMark Morris MonarchsMountain View ThunderPrairie FalconsR.A. Long LumberjacksRidgefield SpudersSkyview StormUnion TitansWashougal PanthersGSHL Football Home Page